隱私權政策

上次更新時間:2018年11月13日年。您可以在Github上查看我們的條款[here](https://github.com/classcraft/policies)的過去版本。

Classcraft Studios Inc. ("Classcraft") 嚴謹對待學生、老師和家長的私隱。 Classcraft 致力保護使用者的私隱,同時提供個性化和有價值的學習體驗。

Classcraft 已作出公眾承諾 -「學生私隱承諾」有責任地蒐集和使用學生數據。 除此之外,我們承諾僅蒐集用於已授權的教育/學校用途所需或經家長/學生授權的學生信息、不出售學生個人信息、不將學生信息用於廣告的行為定位並且不得在已授權之教育/學校目的所需的時段以外保留學生個人信息。 整份「學生私隱承諾」可以在 studentprivacypledge.org上閱覽。

Classcraft 制訂本私隱政策以便使用者普遍地了解 Classcraft 的個人信息管理形式,包括蒐集哪些個人信息、如何處理和使用這些信息。 如果使用者對我們的私隱政策有任何疑問,可以通過 [email protected] 聯繫 Classcraft。

學校環境

Classcraft 設計的遊戲是以分組形式進行,因此與有關老師和學生蒐集得來的信息都是為了共享。 Classcraft 儲存以下信息,老師和學生可以選擇與他們的班級、同事或學校管理人員分享:

  • 學生或老師的姓名;
  • 學生或老師的電子郵件地址;
  • 學生或老師的遊戲活動;
  • 學校和班級信息;
  • 老師建立的內容(例如:帖子、作業和測驗等);
  • 遊戲中的訊息和評論。

眾人都了解老師既是遊戲主持人亦是老師;老師、學生和身在教室中的其他人都可以看到遊戲相關或班級相關的活動、信息或通訊。此外,其他老師、學校或地區管理部門可以獲得某些此類信息(參見下面的「Classcraft 使用者訪問權限」)。總體而言,課堂、教師、學校和校區管理部門在文件中被統稱為學校環境。因此,上述信息的共享也受相關教育機構的私隱政策約束。如果使用者對此信息的共享有任何疑問,Classcraft 建議使用者聯繫相關的教育機構。

除了本私隱政策中提及的情況外,Classcraft 已實施安全措施以確保此數據不會在學校環境以外共享。

蒐集的信息

1. 個人信息

Classcraft 蒐集個人信息用於以下目的:

  • 登入應用程式;
  • 銷售及發票;
  • 操作遊戲;
  • 在遊戲中進行交流;
  • 在申請中遞交作業和完成任務;
  • 參與老師論壇;
  • 聯繫客戶支援;
  • 營銷用途和理解用戶行為(僅限老師和家長);
  • 消息和評論的IP地址(僅根據學校管理部門的要求進行跟踪,僅用於安全目的)

於老師賬戶蒐集的信息可能包括:

  • 電子郵件地址;
  • 送貨和賬單地址;
  • 老師將 Classcraft 推薦給其他老師的數據;
  • 瀏覽器和裝置類型;
  • 學校和班級信息;
  • 購買和付款細節;
  • 遊戲數據;
  • 老師建立的內容(例如:帖子、作業、測驗等);
  • 遊戲中的訊息和評論;
  • 已連接的老師帳號,如果教師與其他教師已聯繫;
  • 作業成績;
  • 使用者活動(例如:登錄、查看的頁面、完成帳號設置步驟等)。

為家長帳號蒐集的信息可能包括:

  • 電子郵件地址;
  • 送貨和賬單地址;
  • 瀏覽器和裝置類型;
  • 購買和付款細節;
  • 遊戲數據;
  • 遊戲中的訊息;
  • 使用者活動(例如:登錄、查看的頁面、完成帳號設置步驟等)。

為學生賬戶蒐集的信息僅限於:

  • 使用者名稱(如果老師選擇的話,這是可選的);
  • 電子郵件地址(如果老師選擇的話,這是可選的);
  • 名字和姓氏(如果老師選擇的話,這是可選的);
  • 相關班級、教師和家長;
  • 遊戲數據(例如:授予或移除XP、AP、HP、GP、訂製他們的頭像以及在遊戲中使用權力和訓練寵物等);
  • 作業成績(如果老師選擇的話,這是可選的);
  • 遊戲中的訊息和評論;
  • 學生建立的內容(例如:作業、測驗答案等)。

於公共網站 www.classcraft.com 所蒐集的訪問者信息可能包括:

  • 頁面瀏覽量;
  • 鏈接點擊;
  • 推薦來源;
  • 國家和城市

Classcraft不會蒐集以下數據:

  • 生物識別數據;
  • 有關免費或減少午餐狀態的信息;
  • 使用者的聯絡人或朋友列表。

2. Cookies

Cookies是小型數據文件,它會於您瀏覽網站和使用在線服務時產生並儲存在您的裝置內。 它們會被廣泛用於網站運作、令網站更有效運作、提供使用報告和協助服務或個性化改良。 另外,還有少量其他類似cookies技術的數據(“本地儲存”)可能會在您的裝置內儲存。

Classcraft 使用以下類型的cookies和本地儲存(在此統稱為“Cookies”);

  • 表現和功能類Cookies:這些Cookies不是必需的,但可以幫助我們個性化和增強您的用戶體驗。 例如,它可以幫助我們記住您的偏好並防止您需要多次重複輸入信息、協助你記住ID和密碼,這樣您每次使用服務時都不必重新輸入。
  • 廣告類Cookies:這些Cookies使用有關您訪問服務時的信息,例如您訪問的網頁、對我們服務的使用或您對廣告和電子郵件的反應,以便我們向你提供更相關的使用者體驗。 廣告類Cookies絕不會用於向學生作廣告定位。

如果您希望禁止使用Cookies,您可以通過瀏覽器設定中關閉Cookies或使用私密瀏覽模式使用我們的服務。

Classcraft 如何處理蒐集的信息?

蒐集的信息用於以下目的:

  • 允許老師管理和玩遊戲;
  • 允許學生玩遊戲;
  • 啟動課程相關的活動,例如:課堂內容、作業和通等;
  • 允許家長與孩子一起玩遊戲;
  • 允許老師、學生和家長將學生的個人表現與該學生班級的總體成績進行比較;
  • 向老師和學校管理人員提供數據分析;
  • 支援軟件為目的;
  • 計算帳單;
  • 用於營銷目的(僅限老師和學校)。 Classcraft 於 shop.classcraft.com 設有在線商店,主要售賣用於教室或作為獎品及禮品的商品,如海報和貼紙。 本網站並不會向學生或家長作推銷。

Classcraft 不會向學校環境以外的對象共享個人身份信息,除非那些已在本文檔所述的目的就毋需事先獲得使用者的書面同意。

默認情況下,學生可以在其帳號中查看班級中其他學生的遊戲活動。 老師可以限制其他學生可以看到的信息:以班級作基準,他們可以隱藏獲得和失去積分的原因,並可以(在特定遊戲時)收窄至只看見學生隊友的活動。

家長登錄至遊戲時無權訪問除了孩子以外,任何學生的個人身份信息。

以總匯形式蒐集的信息並不能識別個別用戶並會用於以下目的:

  • 用於統計用途;
  • 用於研究;
  • 用於戰略發展和業務管理;
  • 用於與 Classcraft 相關的營銷目的;
  • 用於客戶支援。

Classcraft 使用者訪問權限

老師可以訪問其班級的學生數據和家長數據。通過多班級選項,來自同一所學校的老師可以看到與他們相關班級中學生的姓名、使用者名稱和學生所選的角色,但是他們無法訪問自己班級以外的其他學生信息。學校管理員也可以訪問這些數據。

學生可以瀏覽他們的個人數據、團隊遊戲數據、老師在課堂內容系統中發佈的所有內容、其他學生在課堂內容系統中的評論以及老師公開顯示有關整個班級的任何數據。默認情況下,學生可以在其帳號中查看班級中其他學生的遊戲事件。老師可以限制其他學生看到的信息:以班級作基準,他們可以隱藏獲得和失去積分的原因,並可以(在特定遊戲)限制至只能看見隊友的活動。

家長可以訪問與孩子與老師相關的數據並合計孩子班級的數據。

老師論壇的帖子會包括老師姓名和照片並且是公開發佈。請不要將老師論壇的帖子視為私人通訊。

學生記錄

學生記錄是學校和/或校區的財產並受他們的控制。學生可以登錄他們的學生帳號訪問他們的學生記錄。 18歲以下學生的家長可以通過家長賬號、孩子的賬號、聯繫老師或通過[email protected] 聯繫 Classcraft 來獲取孩子的信息。任何錯誤信息的更正應首先向老師或學校管理部門提出。如果老師或學校無法進行更正,家長應通過[email protected] 通知 Classcraft,然後他們將與老師或學校合作更正錯誤的信息。

除根據本私隱政策規定或獲得18歲以上之學生或學生家長的書面同意書外,第三方不能獲取個人身份信息、教育記錄或其他學生記錄。

如發現未經授權而披露學生記錄,Classcraft 會在發現3天內通過電子郵件通知學校、老師、家長和學生。

不會向學生和家長推銷

Classcraft 不會以營銷目的與第三方共享使用者數據。 此外,Classcraft 不會將學生數據用於任何形式的營銷,包括向學生和家長進行營銷。

刪除學生記錄

以下之學生記錄會於學生帳號最後一次登入後保留不超過12個月:

  • 學生遊戲信息,如:XP、HP、AP、GP和所有相關數據,包括日期、描述和點值;
  • 學生行為分析,包括要點、描述和日期;
  • 學生作業以及學生在課堂內容系統中的所有評論和帖子;
  • 學生未來幾年可能不會使用到的其他學生信息。

學生頭像、寵物以及學生賬號信息將在最後一次登入學生賬號後保留不超過36個月。這是因為在接下來的幾年裡玩Classcraft 的學生在未來的課程中仍然可以使用他們的化身和寵物,最多可以使用36個月。

家長和18歲以上的學生可以通過 [email protected]上建議 Classcraft,要求從 Classcraft 數據庫中刪除他們的帳號、他們孩子的帳號以及相關信息。

刪除家長和老師記錄

家長記錄將在最後一次進入其子女的學生帳號後的36個月內刪除。 選擇此時段的長短是為了方便並簡化孩子在 Classcraft 的整個教育註冊。

老師的個人數據和任何與教師課程相關而尚未刪除的數據將於其帳號變為非活動狀態的5年後刪除。

區域合規性

1. 美國

FERPA

FERPA是「家庭教育權利和私隱法」的縮寫,該法是美國聯邦法律旨在保護學生教育記錄的私隱而推行。雖然此行為主要針對教育機構,但Classcraft的私隱政策亦符合FERPA,保護學生數據,讓使用Classcraft的教育機構能遵守FERPA。

COPPA

COPPA是「兒童在線隱私和保護法」的縮寫,該法是美國聯邦法律,旨在保護13歲以下兒童的私隱。根據Classcraft 與老師使用Classcraft 軟件之間的許可協議,老師在COPPA要求下有責任取得家長的許可。 Classcraft 會為老師提供信息並在他們需要時提供家長許可文件的樣本。這可以在https://help.classcraft.com/hc/en-us/articles/218411437-Classcraft-and-COPPA 上找到。

2. 歐盟

自2018年5月24日起,歐盟一般資料保護規範(GDPR)定義了有關蒐集、使用和保留歐盟公民個人信息的規則。 Classcraft 完全符合這些規則。

歐洲委員會已經裁定加拿大的商業實體符合GDPR規定,或者已經提供了足夠的數據安全性。 有關符合數據安全性的國家/地區的最新列表,請訪問 歐盟網址

Classcraft僅與美國的第三方數據處理商開展業務,他們的業務已通過「私隱護盾框架」(https://www.privacyshield.gov/welcome) 認證,可確保符合歐盟數據保護的要求,保持個人數據的安全和尊重。

3.魁北克

位于魁北克省的使用者權利受私營部門的「尊重個人信息保護法」管轄。 您可以使用您的使用者登錄名稱和密碼訪問及修改個別文件,也可以按照「更改和訪問個人信息」文檔中的說明進行操作。 Classcraft辦公室位於 #220 - 165 Wellington. N, Sherbrooke, QC, J1H 5B9。 數據儲存在美國的亞馬遜服務器,Classcraft遵守有關個人信息使用的第17條法案。

安全政策

Classcraft 使用行業標準方法來保護其客戶的數據,以免遭未經授權的使用或訪問、更改、非法或意外破壞或丟失。 但請注意,由於病毒和黑客技術不斷進步,我們無法100%保證。 因此,Classcraft 將不對數據丟失或更改負責。 要索取完整的Classcraft 安全政策副本,請向 [email protected] 提出。

連結和第三方集成

Classcraft 網站可能包含導向其他網站的連結。 Classcraft 嘗試只連結到與 Classcraft 一樣高標準的正派、公平和有品質的網站。 Classcraft 會嘗試確保這些連結對每個人都是安全,但任何連結網站上的私隱和數據蒐集政策都是完全獨立於 Classcraft 並且不受本私隱政策約束。其他可能包含不適合兒童瀏覽的網站也有機會在 Classcraft 不知情或未同意的情況下連接到Classcraft網站。 Classcraft 不一定能認可任何外部連接的網站,所以 Classcraft 對這些網站的內容、政策或行為均不會承擔任何責任。

第三方軟件可能與 Classcraft 集成(例如:Google Classroom、Microsoft、Facebook或Twitter)。 Classcraft 與這些網站的內容、政策或所作出的行動是完全分開,Classcraft 並不需承擔任何責任,第三方的規例亦不受本私隱政策所約束。

Classroom 內容

老師和學生可以在 Classcraft 的各個部分進行發佈。 常見的例子是 YouTube 或 Vimeo 的視頻連結、維基百科或其他參考資料的連結等。 老師有責任確保此內容適當且不存在可能危及學生私隱的網站鏈接。 Classcraft 不會監控課堂內容並對此內容不承擔任何責任。 Classcraft 軟件具備允許教師監控和控制學生在課堂上發佈的內容之功能。 此外,學生亦可會在 Classcraft 中標記不適當的評論,並會自動通知他們的老師。 Classcraft 不會主動監控課堂內容。

對個人信息的更改和訪問

使用者可以通過他們的 Classcraft 用戶帳號或透過聯繫教師或學校管理部門訪問他們的個人信息。

使用者還可以通過向 [email protected] 發送書面請求來索取其個人信息的副本、或修改任何不正確的信息。 你必須提供以下資訊:

  • 名字和姓氏;
  • 電子郵件;
  • 電話號碼;
  • 班級名稱和學校;
  • 學生姓名和/或使用者ID和/或使用者名稱;
  • 老師的名稱。

發送後,Classcraft 團隊的成員將聯繫使用者以進行驗證。

使用者還可以使用上述的步驟更正和更新其個人信息。

控制權之變更

如果 Classcraft 全部或其部分資產被第三方收購或與第三方合併,我們從使用者所蒐集的個人信息將會轉讓給該第三方或成為該第三方獲得的資產之一。 本私隱政策將繼續適用於您的信息,任何收購方都需要根據本政策處理您的個人信息(除非新政策得到您的同意)。 我們將在此類交易完成後的三十(30)天內,通過在我們的主頁上發佈或向您提供給我們的電子郵件地址發出收購通知。 如果您不同意此繼承公司使用您的個人信息,您可以要求公司將個人信息刪除。

萬一 Classcraft 停業,所有使用者信息將在停業日起計12個月內安全地刪除。

披露信息以履行法律義務

在我們認為是合理和合法的情況下,例如:遵守傳票或其他法律程序,Classcraft 可能會披露個人信息。 在我們認為有必要保護 Classcraft、員工、社區或其他人的權利、財產、安全的情況或防止他人違反服務條款或其他協議下,我們可能需要披露個人信息, 這包括但不限於與其他公司和組織交換信息以防止欺詐或回應政府之請求。

私隱政策的變更和更新

本私隱政策自2018年11月13日起生效,版本為1.4。 Classcraft 可自行決定隨時更新、修訂、修改及補充本私隱政策。如果我們對本政策或相關使用者協議進行修改,你將會在登錄遊戲的頁面收到的我們發佈的通知和/或我們將直接向您發送電子郵件並附上新文件的副本。 Classcraft 已更新的私隱政策和使用者協議也將會發佈在 Classcraft 之公眾網站。 Classcraft要求使用者在繼續使用我們的服務前查看已更新的私隱政策和/或使用者協議。如果使用者不接受私隱政策的更新,使用者可以根據老師執照協議、學生使用條款和/或家長使用條款取消訂閱。當私隱政策的更新生效後,使用者繼續使用 Classcraft 提供的服務將表示使用者接受私隱政策的更新。

同意信息的蒐集和處理

通過接受老師授權協議、家長使用條款和/或學生使用條款,使用者明確向 Classcraft 發出特別聲明表明使用者已自願決定授予 Classcraft 特定權限,根據私隱政策規定蒐集、處理和使用個人信息。使用者進一步聲明使用者了解 Classcraft 如何蒐集、處理和使用此類信息的目的、如何進行處理、如何保護使用者的私隱以及使用者可以撤回其同意授權。

聯繫

Classcraft 非常重視 Classcraft 服務及使用者對其之信任。 如果使用者對本私隱政策有任何疑問,使用者應聯繫 Classcraft:

電郵[email protected]

Privacy Policy

Classcraft Studios Inc. ("Classcraft") takes the privacy of its students, teachers and parents seriously. Classcraft is committed to protecting users’ privacy while providing a personalized and valuable learning experience.

Classcraft has taken the Student Privacy Pledge as a public commitment for the responsible collection and use of student data. Among other things, we have committed to only collect student information that is needed for authorized education/school purposes, or as authorized by the parent/student, to not sell student personal information, to not use student information for behavioral targeting of advertisements to students and to not retain student personal information beyond the time period required to support the authorized educational/school purposes. The complete Student Privacy Pledge can be read at studentprivacypledge.org.

Classcraft has developed this Privacy Policy to let users know in general terms about Classcraft’s personal information management practices, including what personal information is collected and how it is processed and used. If users have any questions about our Privacy Policy they may contact Classcraft at [email protected].

The School Environment

As Classcraft is designed to be played in groups, much of the information collected about the teachers and students is intended to be shared. Classcraft stores the following information that the teacher and students may choose to share with their class, colleagues or school administration:

  • Student or teacher’s name;
  • Student or teacher’s email address;
  • Student or teacher’s game activities;
  • School and class information;
  • Teacher-generated content (for example: posts, assignments, quizzes, etc.);
  • Messages and comments within the game.

It is understood that the teacher is both the game master and the teacher and that game related or class related activities, information or communications may be visible to teachers, students and others who are physically in the classroom. Furthermore, some information will be available to other teachers and school or district administrations (see "Classcraft User Access Privileges" below). Collectively, the classroom, teachers, and school and district administration are referred to in the document as the School Environment. The sharing of the above information is therefore also subject to the privacy policies of the relevant educational institutions. If users have any questions about the sharing of this information Classcraft would recommend that users contact the relevant educational institutions.

Classcraft has taken all precautions to make sure that this data will not be shared outside the School Environment except as outlined in this Privacy Policy.

Collected Information

Personal Information

Classcraft collects personal information for the following purposes:

  • Logging in to the application;
  • Sales and invoicing;
  • Operating the game;
  • Communicating within the game;
  • Handing-in assignments and completing tasks within the application;
  • Participating in teacher forums;
  • Contacting customer support;
  • Marketing and understanding user behavior (teachers and parents only).

The information collected for TEACHER accounts may include:

  • Email address;
  • Shipping and billing address;
  • Referral data should teachers refer Classcraft to other teachers;
  • Browser and device types;
  • School and class information;
  • Purchase and payment details;
  • Game play data;
  • Teacher-generated content (for example: posts, assignments, quizzes, etc.);
  • Messages and comments within the game;
  • Connected teacher accounts if the teacher is connecting to other teachers;
  • Assignment grades;
  • User activity (for example: logins, pages viewed, account setup steps completed, etc.).

The information collected for PARENT accounts may include:

  • Email address;
  • Shipping and billing address;
  • Browser and device types;
  • Purchase and payment details;
  • Game play data;
  • Messages within the game;
  • User activity (for example: logins, pages viewed, account setup steps completed, etc.).

The information collected for STUDENT accounts is limited to:

  • Username (this is optional, if the teacher so chooses);
  • Email addresses (this is optional, if the teacher so chooses);
  • First and last name (this is optional, if the teacher so chooses);
  • Associated classes, teachers and parents;
  • Game play data (for example: awarding or removing of XP, AP, HP, GP, customization of their avatars and the use of powers in the game, training of pets, etc.);
  • Assignment grades (this is optional, if the teacher so chooses);
  • Messages and comments within the game;
  • Student-generated content (for example: assignments, quiz answers, etc.).

Classcraft does not collect the following data:

  • Physiological biometric data;
  • Information on free or reduced lunch status;
  • User’s contact lists or friends lists.

Cookies

Cookies are small data files that are commonly stored on your device when you use websites and on-line services. They are widely used to make websites work, or to work more efficiently, as well as to provide reporting information and assist with services or personalization. There are also other technologies that are similar to cookies, which may store small amount of data on your device ("local storage").

Classcraft uses the following types of cookies and local storage (collectively called "Cookies" herein):

  • Performance and functionality Cookies: These Cookies are not essential, but help us to personalize and enhance your user experience. For example, they may help us to remember your preferences and prevent you from needing to re-enter information more than once, or to remember your id and password so that you do not have to enter them each time you use our services.
  • Advertising Cookies: These Cookies use information about your visit, such as the pages you visit, your use of our services or your response to ads and emails so that we can deliver a user experience that is more relevant to you. Advertising cookies are NEVER used for targeting of advertisements to students.

If you wish to disable the use of Cookies, you may do so from your browser preferences menu of your browser software by either turning off Cookies or by using your browser’s privacy mode when using our services.

What Does Classcraft Do With the Collected Information?

Collected information is used for the following purposes:

  • To allow the teacher to manage and play the game;
  • To allow classmates to play the game;
  • To enable class related activities such as classroom content, assignments, and communications;
  • To allow parents to play the game with their child(ren);
  • To allow teachers, students and parents to compare individual student performance against aggregate results from within that student’s class;
  • For software support purposes;
  • For billing purposes, and
  • For marketing purposes (teachers and parents only).

Classcraft does not share personally identifiable information outside the School Environment, except for those purposes stated within this document, without first obtaining the express written consent of the individual.

By default, students can see game events for other students in their class from within their account. The teacher can restrain the information visible to other students: on a per class basis, they can hide the reasons for gaining and losing points and also limit visibility to a student’s teammates only (for the purpose of being able to play the game).

Parents who login to the game are not granted access to personally identifiable information of any student other than their child.

Collected information in aggregate form, whereby individual users are not identifiable, is used for the following purposes:

  • For statistical purposes;
  • For research;
  • For strategic development and business management;
  • For marketing purposes related to Classcraft; and
  • For customer support purposes.

Classcraft User Access Privileges

Teachers are granted access to student data for the students in their classes and to parent data for the students in their classes. With the multiclass option, teachers from the same school can see the name, username and character class of students who are in classes that are linked to theirs, but do not have access to other student information outside of their own class. The school administrators may also have access to this data.

Students are granted access to their personal data, their team game play data, all content posted by their teacher in the classroom content system, comments of other students in the classroom content system, as well as any data that is displayed by the teacher in front of the whole class. By default, students can see game events for other students in their class from within their account. The teacher can restrain the information visible to other students: on a per class basis, they can hide the reasons for gaining and losing points and also limit visibility to a student’s teammates only (for the purpose of being able to play the game).

Parents are granted access to data related to their child, their child’s teacher and to aggregate data for their child’s class.

Postings in the teacher forums include the teacher name and photo and are available publicly. Postings to the teacher forums should not be considered private communications.

Student Records

Student records are the property of and under the control of the school, school district and/or the teacher. Students can access their student records by logging in to their student account. Parents of students under the age of 18 can access their child’s information via the parent account, by logging in using their child’s account, by contacting the teacher or by contacting Classcraft at [email protected]. Corrections of any erroneous information should first be brought to the attention of the teacher. In the event that the teacher is unable to make the correction, parents should advise Classcraft at [email protected], who will then work with the teacher or school to facilitate correction of any erroneous information.

Third parties are not granted access to personally identifiable information or educational records or other student records except as provided in this Privacy Policy, or after first obtaining the express written consent of the parent or student over 18 years of age. No parties, including Classcraft, will be allowed to engage in targeted advertising of any sort directed towards the students.

Should there be any unauthorized disclosure of a student’s records, Classcraft will notify the teacher, parent and student via email within 3 days following discovery of the unauthorized disclosure.

Deletion of Student Records

The following student records are retained for a period of no more than 12 months after the last entry was made to the student account in the game:

  • Student game play information, such as XP, HP, AP, GP, and all related data including dates, descriptions, and point values;
  • Student behavioural analytics, including points, descriptions and dates;
  • Student assignments and all comments and posts by the student in the classroom content system; and
  • Any other student information that may not be used by the student in future years.

Student avatars and pets, along with the student account information are retained for a period of no more than 36 months following the last entry made to the student account in the game. This is because students playing Classcraft in subsequent years will still have access to their avatars and pets during those future classes, to a maximum of 36 months. Parents and students over the age of 18 can request to have their account, or the account of their child, and related information deleted from the Classcraft database by advising Classcraft at [email protected].

Deletion of Parent and Teacher Records

Parent records will be retained for a period of no more than 36 months following the last entry made to one of their children’s student accounts. This time period has been selected to facilitate streamlined registration for Classcraft throughout their child’s education.

Personal data of teachers and any data not already deleted that is related to a teacher’s classes will be deleted 5 years after their account has become inactive.

FERPA

FERPA is an acronym for the Family Education Rights and Privacy Act, a US federal law to protect the privacy of student educational records. While this act is primarily directed towards educational institutions, Classcraft’s privacy policy is designed to secure student data in compliance with FERPA and to allow education institutions using Classcraft to be compliant with FERPA.

COPPA

COPPA is an acronym for the Child Online Privacy Protection Act, a US federal law to protect the privacy of children under the age of 13. Under the licensing agreement between Classcraft and the teachers using the Classcraft software, the teachers are responsible for obtaining parental permission should it be required under COPPA. Classcraft does provide information for teachers along with a sample parental permission document should they require one. This is available at https://help.classcraft.com/hc/en-us/articles/218411437-Classcraft-and-COPPA.

Security Policy

Classcraft uses industry standard methods to protect its customer’s data against unauthorized use or access, alteration, unlawful or accidental destruction or loss. It should however be noted that 100% guarantee cannot be made due to constant advances in virus and hacking technology. Classcraft can therefore not be held responsible for data loss or alteration. A full copy of the Classcraft Security Policy can be obtained upon request to [email protected].

Classcraft websites may contain links to other websites. Classcraft tries to only link to websites that share Classcraft’s high standards of decency, fairness and integrity. Classcraft tries to make sure that these links are safe for everyone, but the privacy and data collection practices on any linked websites are entirely separate from Classcraft and are not covered by this Privacy Policy. Other websites, which may contain material not suitable for children, may also link to Classcraft websites without Classcraft’s knowledge or consent. Classcraft does not necessarily endorse any outside websites and Classcraft has no responsibility for the content, policies or actions of these websites.

Third Party software may be integrated with Classcraft (such as Google Classroom, Microsoft, Facebook or Twitter). Classcraft has no responsibility for the content, policies or actions of these websites and they are entirely separate from Classcraft and are not covered by this Privacy Policy.

Classroom Content

Teachers and students may make postings in various sections of Classcraft. Common examples of this would be links to videos hosted by YouTube or Vimeo, links to Wikipedia or other reference material, and so on. It is the responsibility of the teacher to ensure that this content is appropriate and free from links to sites which may compromise the privacy of their students. Classcraft does not monitor the classroom content and has no responsibility for this content. The Classcraft software has features within it to allow teachers to monitor and control all content posted by the students in their class. Furthermore, students may flag inappropriate comments from within Classcraft and their teacher will be automatically notified.

Changes to and Access to Personal Information

Users have access to their personal information via their Classcraft user account.

Users may also request a copy of their personal information in writing by sending a written request to [email protected]. The following information has to be provided:

  • First and last name;
  • Email;
  • Phone Number;
  • Class name and school;
  • Student name and/or user id and/or username;
  • Teacher name.

The user will then be contacted by a member of the Classcraft team for verification purposes.

Users can also correct and update their personal information using the same procedures described above.

Change of Control

In the event that all or a portion of Classcraft or its assets are acquired by or merged with a third party, personal information that we have collected from users would be one of the assets transferred to or acquired by that third party. This Privacy Policy will continue to apply to your information, and any acquirer would only be able to handle your personal information as per this policy (unless you give consent to a new policy). We will provide you with notice of an acquisition within thirty (30) days following the completion of such a transaction, by posting on our homepage, or by email to your email address that you provided to us. If you do not consent to the use of your personal information by such a successor company, you may request its deletion from the company.

In the unlikely event that Classcraft goes out of business, all user information will be securely deleted within 12 months of the date of going out of business.

Classcraft may disclose personal information if we have a good faith belief that doing so is necessary to comply with the law, such as complying with a subpoena or other legal process. We may need to disclose personal information where, in good faith, we think it is necessary to to protect the rights, property, or safety of Classcraft, our employees, our community, or others, or to prevent violations of our our Terms of Service or other agreements. This includes, without limitation, exchanging information with other companies and organizations for fraud protection or responding to government requests.

Changes and Updates to the Privacy Policy

This Privacy Policy is effective as of November 1, 2016 and is version 1.3. Classcraft may, at its sole discretion, update, revise, modify and supplement from time to time this Privacy Policy. Should we make modifications to this policy or the related User Agreements, we’ll post a notice that you will receive when you login to the game and/or we will send an email directly to you with a copy of the new documents. Classcraft’s updated Privacy Policy and User Agreements will also be posted on Classcraft’s public facing website. Classcraft asks users to review the updated Privacy Policy and/or User Agreements before continuing to use our services. If users do not accept the updated Privacy Policy users can cancel their subscriptions in accordance with the Teacher License Agreement, Student Terms of Use and/or Parent Terms of Use. The user’s continued use of the services provided by Classcraft after the updated Privacy Policy takes effect will constitute user’s acceptance of the updated Privacy Policy.

By accepting the Teacher License Agreement, Parent Terms of Use and/or Student Terms of Use users are expressly giving Classcraft a special declaration that users have decided by their own free will to grant Classcraft specific authorization to collect, process and use the personal information stipulated in this Privacy Policy and to use such information in accordance with what is stipulated in this Privacy Policy. Users are further declaring that users are aware of the purpose for Classcraft collecting, processing and using such information, how the processing will be conducted, how users’ privacy will be protected and that users are authorized to withdraw their consent.

Contact

Classcraft’s service to its users and users’ trust is of utmost importance to Classcraft. If users have any questions about this Privacy Policy, users should contact Classcraft at [email protected].